counter easy hit


Dominican Laity:

A brief report of the activities of “THE DOMINICAN LAITY” - Ashoknagar, Mangalore:

‘Dominican Laity’ was incorporated at Mangalore in the month of March 2006 at St. Dominic Church Ashoknagar. The founder priest was the Prior of the Dominican Community Rev. Fr. K.C. Joseph O.P. and the founder director was Rev. Fr. Melwyn Fernandes O.P. There were 17 members at the time of formation, now we are 40 members.

Inspired by the spirit and charism of St. Dominic and as it is mentioned in the guide “Growing in the Spirit of St. Dominic”, the Lay Dominicans live prayerfully the Gospel values, give the gospel message to those who felt lost, confused and had gone astray from the Church.

Our meetings are held on the third Monday of every month at 5 St. Dominic church, Ashoknagar. It begins with a hymn, Rosary, prayers to St. Dominic, a brief reflection by priest in charge, reading of the report and concluding hymn. Discussions, sharing and fellowship with refreshments is continued in the community refectory.


VISITS: we along with other organizations pay visit to the orphanages, homes for the aged and ashrams and provide charity and entertainment. We also visit the families of the sick and the suffering in our parish and pray for their recovery. We make arrangements for the Holy Mass and confessions at their homes.

As pilgrims we visit the shrines, and churches,

SERVICE: We take part in the cleanliness of the church before the major feasts like Christmas, Easter etc., co-operate in the preparation of festal meals, some members teach Sunday catechism, join to sing in the church choir, prepare Sunday mass liturgy etc.

PROGRAMMES ATTENDED: Dominican Family Gathering at Atma Darshan Kerala, Dominican Convention at Nagpur, Blessing of the new Chapel and Postulants House at Polali etc.

PICNICS: Every year we take part in the picnic arranged by the Dominican Family of Mangalore.

Humble Beginning

• Date of incorporation- March 2006

• Members -17

• Founder priest- Rev. Fr. K.C. Joseph O.P.

• Founder Director- Rev.Fr. Melwyn Fernandes OP

• Founder President- Mrs. Benedicta Dsousa.